In Memoriam

Man, there was something about Matt that everyone loved. Even when he was riding your ass about something, he was amazing. Anyone on the team or who ever worked at the Stadium will say the same.

But I knew him better than most of those people. Differently.

They can talk about the Matthew Nelson who managed the team, and later owned it. Others will talk about their former teammate and mentor.

I want to talk about my father-in-law. My father figure.

I loved that man. And he, for some reason, loved me right back. Even when I had treated Mariah so badly, Matt kept on loving me.

He could have destroyed me and my career, but he never did. I mean, it was no secret he was angry at me for hurting his baby girl. We talked about it. He yelled. We never stopped being friends, and he never stopped being there for me. I don’t get it. I really don’t.

I owe Matt everything. I wouldn’t have anything I have earned through the years were it not for him. Yeah, I screwed things up big time, but still… I wouldn’t have my kids had Matt not saved me from myself all those years ago.

When Matt stepped in and offered to bring me out to work with him, I was days away from losing custody of Jamal. He would have gone to my dad. But Matt worked his magic and helped me get my shit together.

Of course, I realize how I sound. I am aware I repaid him my breaking his daughter’s heart. But, that’s my point. Somehow that man managed to forgive me even that. I’m not even sure I’ve forgiven myself for that. Still, I was always welcome in his family and I always knew I could go to him for advice.

I hope to be half the man he ever was.


It breaks my heart to see Mariah hurting like she is right now. Naturally, my kids are sad, but something in Mariah is bleeding out. It’s like the little girl that lives inside her is wounded and spreading infection.

Laurant told me he feels helpless because he doesn’t know how to give her the kind of comfort she needs. He’s looking to me to try, but I don’t dare. Some doors shouldn’t be reopened. It took a long time for each of us to move one after our marriage ended. I won’t do anything to damage that tenuous truce we’ve struck over time. Especially not now, when things are about to get much more complicated.

She doesn’t know that Matt left the team to both of us. We can either run it together or we can sell it outside the family. There’s no in between. I’ve already checked with his lawyer. My first inclination was to give her my ownership, but I can’t. I could just take a silent role and let her run things, but I find I don’t want to.

I think Matt knew that. And I think he knew that she won’t want to, either. What don’t get, is why he would stick us together like this after everything that went down.

But I suppose he had his reasons. And I’ll trust him that we can do this.

I just want him to be proud.

God, I’m gonna miss you, Matt. I hope wherever you are is awesome.

Leave a comment